RMAF Participated In Singapore Airshow 2012

Tuesday, 14th February 2012

The RMAF Smokey Bandits Team Aerobatics with Five MiG-29N showed up in the Singapore Airshow. The team is based at Kuantan, a unit of No. 17/19 SKN (Squadron), which is also known as the “Taufan Ganas”. All of the team’s pilots are operational fighter pilots, including a female pilot, Major Patricia Yap Syau Yin.

Lima 2011

Tuesday, 6th December 2011

Malaysia played host to the 11th edition of the LIMA (Langkawi International Maritime and Aerospace) Exhibition, which will be held from 6 – 10 December 2011 in Langkawi. The first LIMA was held in 1991 and was officially launched by Dr. Mahatir.

First LIMA

Monday, 11th November 1991

The first Langkawi International Maritime and Aerospace (LIMA) Exhibition brought together technology and products from the aerospace industries. LIMA is now established as one of the major airshows in the world and it is a biennial event.

Muzium TUDM Opened At Sungai Besi

Thursday, 2nd July 1987

The Muzium TUDM or RMAF Museum was officially opened to the public which coincided with the 27th anniversary of the formation of the Royal Malaysian Air Force by the Chief of Armed Forces Staff, Gen Tan Sri Ghazali bin Dato Mohd Seth. The Museum is located at Sungai Besi and opened daily to the public.

RMAF No. 6 Squadron Formed

Tuesday, 1st August 1967

RMAF, TUDM, formed the No. 6 Squadron. The Squadron is the home of the Canadair CL41G Tebuans. The introduction of Canadair CL41G jet strike aircraft marked the end of the "Non-Fighting Force" concept of the RMAF since its formation in 1958.

RMAF Renamed From TUDP To TUDM Formed

Tuesday, 17th September 1963

With the formation of Malaysian Federation on 16 Sept 1963, Royal Malaysian Air Force (RMAF) change is name for TUDP to Tentera Udara Diraja Malaysia (TUDM).

RAF Handed Over Sempang Airport To RMAF

Tuesday, 25th October 1960

British Royal Air Force (RAF) handed over their first base in Malaya to the RMAF, the Sempang Airport located in Sungai Besi, Kuala Lumpur.

RMAF Was Formed

Monday, 2nd June 1958

Tentera Udara Diraja Persekutuan (TUDP) or Royal Malayan Air Force (RMAF) was formed with its roots traced to the Malayan Auxiliary Air Force formations of the British's Royal Air Force (RAF) in the colonial Malaya.